Warmaster Gordrakk

I’ve been having a debate (mainly with myself – as everyone else is just plain disagreeing) recently about Gordrakk being included in a Kruleboyz or Savage Orruk list.

Hear me out!

I have two pieces of evidence at present that say he can.

1) AoS App

When I was playing with budding Kruleboyz lists on Saturday I toyed with the notion of including Chadnos. So, I selected the filter and made sure Warmasters were selected. Sure enough Kraggy appears, but, who else should I see but Gordrakk riding his cabbage! That’s strange I think, so for S&G’s I decide to put him down and fill out the rest of the list.

Army Faction: Orruk Warclans
Army Type: Kruleboyz
Subfaction: Big Yellers
Grand Strategy: Hold the Line
Triumph: Inspired

LEADERS
Gordrakk (540)
Swampcalla Shaman and Pot-grot (105)*
Spells: Da Black Pit
Snatchaboss on Sludgeraker Beast (315)*
General
– Command Traits: Supa Sneaky
– Artefacts of Power: Eye-biter Ash

BATTLELINE
Man-skewer Boltboyz (360)*
Man-skewer Boltboyz (240)*
Gutrippaz (180)*
Wicked Stikka

ARTILLERY
Beast-skewer Killbow (130)*

OTHER
Hobgrot Slittaz (80)*

CORE BATTALIONS
– *Battle Regiment

TOTAL POINTS: 1950/2000

And to top it off once the list was complete I just checked the indicator at the bottom:

From the Age of Sigmar App

I know, before you say it. This list isn’t competitive. But I wanted to see if Gordrakk would be ok by the app. Weirdly however, when you attempt to build the same list on Warscroll Builder it’s not possible.

2) His Warwcroll

My second piece of evidence points to his Warscroll and specifically his Warmaster rule.

What’s interesting to me here is that the Warscroll says:

If this unit is included in an Orruk Warclans army….

Games Workshop Age of Sigmar App

Orruk Warclans, NOT Ironjawz. But just to be certain I checked the Warscroll out in the physical book. Yes, it says the same thing.

But I’m still on the fence as to whether this is a thing so I’ve emailed Games Workshop and just asked them directly. Hopefully they’ll get back to me later today.

But what do you think? Am I barking up the wrong tree?

4 thoughts on “Warmaster Gordrakk”

  1. I’d say no because Gordrakk’s wording of Warmaster seems to allow him to function in either a Big Waaagh! or an Ironjawz army. Compare to say Kragnos’ Warmaster ability which not only gives explicit permission to be taken in other armies but also explicitly says you don’t lose benefits. Army builder appears to be wrong in that one. Kruleboyz and Bonesplitta armies can only include Kruleboyz or Bonesplittas by keywords, and without a specific exception like Kragnos, Gordrakk has neither.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. haha we’ve all been there! I can’t count the number of times I’ve excitedly interpreted something in the best possible way for somebody less attached to the interpretation to spoil my fun before it begins

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s